Every B2B data vendor describes itself as compliant. The word costs nothing. What costs something is a third-party audit, a named certifier, a published data-sourcing statement, a Do Not Call flag on every phone record, and a public opt-out that works. This compares nine vendors on which of those they publish on their own sites, checked in September 2026, with a link on every claim. Where a vendor publishes nothing on a point, the table says so rather than guessing.
The short answer
Three vendors publish a full compliance picture on their own sites: an independent security audit, a privacy management certification, a named GDPR position, a data-sourcing statement, and an opt-out flow. Lusha, ZoomInfo, and Cognism. Apollo publishes the audits and the GDPR position. LeadIQ and RocketReach publish audits. Seamless.AI publishes one audit. UpLead and Lead411 publish no certifications on the pages a buyer sees first. Two things separate the top three from each other: Lusha and Cognism state Do Not Call handling on phone records, and Lusha publishes its certifiers by name.
How to read a vendor’s compliance page
Five lines matter, in this order.
SOC 2 Type II. An independent auditor examined the vendor’s security controls over a period of months. This is the baseline. A vendor without it is asking you to take its word.
ISO 27701. The privacy extension to ISO 27001. It certifies a privacy information management system, which is the thing that matters for a company whose product is other people’s data. ISO 27001 alone certifies information security, not privacy.
The GDPR statement, and who stands behind it. There is no official GDPR certification scheme yet, so “GDPR compliant” is a self-assessment unless a vendor names an independent auditor or seal that reviewed it. A named certifier is stronger than the phrase.
Do Not Call handling. For anyone who dials, this is the line that keeps a rep out of trouble. A vendor that flags DNC status on each phone record, or screens against national registries, is doing work the buyer would otherwise have to do.
Where the data comes from, and how to leave. A published data-sourcing statement and a working opt-out page are what “privacy-first” means in practice. In California, a vendor that holds contact data it did not collect directly should be registered as a data broker.
Nine vendors, side by side
Two tables. The first is what an auditor attested. The second is what the vendor does with the data day to day. “Not published” means the point does not appear on the vendor’s trust, security, data, or pricing pages as checked, not that the vendor lacks it.
Certifications and statements
| Vendor | SOC 2 Type II | ISO 27001 | ISO 27701 | GDPR | CCPA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lusha | Yes | Yes, plus 27017, 31700, 42001 | Yes | Certified (ePrivacyseal GmbH) | Validated (TrustArc) |
| ZoomInfo | Yes | Yes | Yes | Own statement, TRUSTe seal | Own statement |
| Cognism | Yes | Yes | Yes | Own statement | Own statement |
| Apollo | SOC 2, type not stated | Yes | Not published | Own statement, processor and controller | Own statement |
| LeadIQ | Yes | Not published | Not published | Own statement | Not published |
| RocketReach | SOC 2, type not stated | Yes | Not published | GDPR page | Referenced |
| Seamless.AI | Yes | Not published | Not published | Not published | State consumer policy |
| UpLead | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Lead411 | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
Practices
| Vendor | Do Not Call on phone records | Data sourcing page | Data broker registration stated | Opt-out page |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lusha | Yes, flag on every record | Yes, four sources named | Yes, California | Yes |
| ZoomInfo | Not published | Yes, data transparency page | Yes, California | Yes |
| Cognism | Yes, screens national DNC and TPS lists | Yes | Not published | Yes |
| Apollo | Not published | Yes, four collection methods | Not published | Yes |
| LeadIQ | Not published | Data page | Not published | Yes |
| RocketReach | Not published | Not published | Not published | Yes |
| Seamless.AI | Not published | Not published | Not published | Privacy policy |
| UpLead | Not published | Accuracy guarantee only | Not published | Privacy policy |
| Lead411 | Not published | Not published | Not published | Privacy policy |
Checked against each vendor’s own site, September 15 and 17, 2026. Sources are linked in the vendor notes below.
Vendor notes, with sources
Lusha
Publishes the longest list, and names who issued it. SOC 2 Type II. ISO 27001, 27701, 27017, 31700, and 42001. GDPR certified by ePrivacyseal GmbH, a European auditor. CCPA validated by TrustArc, with a TRUSTe seal. Registered with the California Data Broker Registry. Every phone record carries a Do Not Call flag. The data sources page names four sources and states that Lusha does not scrape professional networks or buy from data brokers. Opt-out is in the site footer and processes into a suppression list. Trust Center.
ZoomInfo
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 27701, GDPR and CCPA compliance stated, TRUSTe certified, with IAPP, NAI, and FPF membership listed on its data page. Its FAQ states it is registered as a data broker and collects business-related data only. A data transparency page describes sources. Do Not Call handling is not published on the pages checked. Trust Center.
Cognism
ISO 27001, ISO 27701, and SOC 2 Type II on its security page, with GDPR and CCPA compliance stated and automatic screening against Do Not Call and TPS registries in multiple countries, including the US and UK. Cognism’s phone-verified Diamond Data is the one dataset on this list a vendor says it confirms by calling. Pricing is quote-based, so the compliance documentation is easier to find than the price.
Apollo
“ISO 27001 and SOC 2 certified” and “GDPR compliant as both a Data Processor and Data Controller” on its data page, CCPA on its security page. The data page names four collection methods, including a contributor network of two million users and vetted third-party providers. ISO 27701 and Do Not Call handling are not published on the pages checked.
LeadIQ
“SOC 2 Type II certified, GDPR-compliant” on its homepage, with encryption and role-based access described. ISO certifications, CCPA, and Do Not Call handling are not published on the pages checked.
RocketReach
“ISO 27001 certification and our SOC 2 renewal” on its security post, plus a GDPR page. ISO 27701, Do Not Call handling, and a data-sourcing statement are not published on the pages checked.
Seamless.AI
SOC 2 Type II on its pricing page, alongside encryption and SSO. GDPR is not stated on the pricing page; a state consumer policy covers CCPA. Data sourcing and Do Not Call handling are not published on the pages checked.
UpLead and Lead411
Neither publishes certifications on the pricing or home pages a buyer sees first (UpLead, Lead411). Both have privacy policies. Lead411 describes human-verified phone numbers but publishes no Do Not Call handling. Ask both in writing before you buy.
Where privacy-first is a claim and where it’s a practice
Three patterns from the table.
A certification list tells you about the vendor’s processes, not about any single record. A vendor can hold every ISO standard on this page and still return a phone number you shouldn’t dial. That’s why the Do Not Call line is separate, and why only two of nine publish it.
“GDPR compliant” appears on eight of nine sites and means something different on each. One names an auditor. The rest are self-assessments. Ask who reviewed it and when.
The vendors that publish the least about compliance are also the ones that publish the least about accuracy and coverage. That’s not a coincidence. A vendor comfortable being checked publishes; one that isn’t, doesn’t.
Limitations of this comparison
This compares what vendors publish, not what they do. A vendor may hold a certification it hasn’t put on its site, and a published one may have lapsed; the certifier’s registry is the check. “Not published on the pages checked” means the trust, security, data, and pricing pages as of the dates given, not every page on the site. Certification does not settle your own legal basis for outreach, which depends on who you contact, from where, and how. And Lusha wrote this, so the table is sourced line by line to the vendors’ own pages precisely so you don’t have to take our word for the rows about us or anyone else.
FAQ
Which B2B data vendors are GDPR compliant?
Eight of the nine compared state GDPR compliance on their own sites. Only Lusha names an independent certifier, ePrivacyseal GmbH. ZoomInfo and Cognism publish ISO 27701, the privacy management standard, alongside their GDPR statements. The rest are self-assessments.
What is a privacy-first B2B data vendor?
One that publishes an independent security audit, a privacy management certification, a named GDPR position, where its data comes from, how to opt out, and how it handles Do Not Call. On that definition three of nine vendors qualify in full: Lusha, ZoomInfo, and Cognism.
Does GDPR compliance make outreach legal?
No. The vendor’s compliance covers how it collects and processes data. Your legal basis for contacting someone is yours to establish, and it depends on the recipient, their country, and the channel. A compliant vendor makes that easier, not automatic.
Which vendors flag Do Not Call status?
Lusha, on every phone record. Cognism, by screening against national Do Not Call and TPS registries. The other seven don’t publish DNC handling on the pages checked.
Which vendors publish where their data comes from?
Lusha, ZoomInfo, Apollo, and Cognism publish data-sourcing pages. Lusha and ZoomInfo state their California data broker registration. LeadIQ has a data page. The rest don’t publish sourcing on the pages checked.
Are contact data scrapers compliant?
Scraping professional networks generally breaches those platforms’ terms and leaves the buyer with data of unknown provenance. Lusha states it does not scrape professional networks or social platforms. Ask any vendor the same question directly, and prefer ones whose sourcing page answers it.
Sources: vendor pages as linked, checked September 15 and 17, 2026. Vendors change their trust pages without notice; follow the links before you buy.
